ESG at PIMCO

We believe the size of bond markets and recurring nature of debt issuance make fixed income investors a meaningful force in driving sustainable change.

in-page

Featured PIMCO ESG Funds

Find sustainable fixed income strategies with PIMCO's range of ESG investing funds.

Our Industry-Leading Approach

Time tested: Our active ESG investment process takes the same rigorous approach applied to all PIMCO portfolios a step further by also pursuing sustainability objectives.

A+ PRI Ratings (2018, 2019, and 2020): PIMCO is committed to the integration of ESG factors in our investment process and we scored A+ across all Fixed Income categories in our Annual UNPRI Assessment Report.

PIMCO’s ESG Capabilities

We Aim to Be a Leader in ESG Fixed Income Investing

$628B

Sustainable Investment Assets under management

Over 80%

of holdings of corporate bond issuers engaged on ESG (in 2021)

A+

PRI Assessment Score (2018, 2019, and 2020) across all Fixed Income categories

Source: PIMCO. As of 12/31/2021

Sustainable Impact

By investing in PIMCO's Climate Bond Fund (Canada) as compared to the Bloomberg Global Aggregate Credit Index (CAD Hedged), your potential impact could be:

commentary icon

11x

More green, social, and other impact bonds than the index

commentary icon

67%

Reduction in carbon intensity compared to the index

commentary icon

100%

Renewable energy-based utilities sector holdings

commentary icon

86%

Engagement with corporate issuers in the Fund

PIMCO Climate Bond Fund (Canada) is being compared to the Bloomberg Global Aggregate Credit Index (CAD Hedged) as a well-known broad based bond index, to illustrate the Funds positive Environmental impact over a non-ESG broad market. The PIMCO Climate Bond Fund (Canada) is benched to Bloomberg MSCI Green Bond Index. The index may materially vary from the composition of the portfolio. It is not possible to invest directly in an unmanaged index.

Source: PIMCO. As of 9/30/2021

ESG Report and Policy Statement

Annual ESG Investing Report

Case studies of engagement with bond issuers, industry groups, and clients

Download

ESG Investment Policy Statement

PIMCO’s approach to considering material ESG factors in bond markets

Download
More Resources

ESG Bonds 101

An educational overview of the ESG Bond market including green, social, and sustainability-linked bonds

Explore Now

ESG Strategies Brochure (Canada)

An intro to ESG in bonds, our team’s approach, and the ESG strategies we offer

Download

Corporate Responsibility Report

Annual update on PIMCO’s progress in the critical areas of sustainability and corporate responsibility

Learn More

Guidance for Sustainable Bond Issuance

PIMCO’s ESG portfolio management team outlines best practices for issuers of green, social, sustainability or sustainability-linked bonds

Download

Disclosures

Toronto
PIMCO Canada Corp.
199 Bay Street, Suite 2050
Commerce Court Station
P.O. Box 363
Toronto, ON, M5L 1G2
416-368-3350

The products and services provided by PIMCO Canada Corp. may only be available in certain provinces or territories of Canada and only through dealers authorized for that purpose.

1 UNPRI assessment report limited to asset managers signed up to the Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) and based on how well ESG metrics are incorporated into their investment processes. UNPRI Transparency Reports are available at https://stpublic.blob.core.windows.net/pri-ra/2020/Investor/Public-TR/(Merged)_Public_Transparency_Report_PIMCO_2020.pdf . Prior to 2021, PRI assessments were awarded scores based on A+ - E scale. A+ being highest score, while E being the lowest. PRI Assessments awarded from 2021 onward are based on a scale of 1-5 Stars. 1 star being the lowest score, 5 stars being the highest. For methodology prior to 2021, please refer to: https://www.unpri.org/reporting-and-assessment/how-to-access-reported-data/3073.article#downloads. For 2021 Methodology, please refer to https://dwtyzx6upklss.cloudfront.net/Uploads/v/g/y/2021_assessmentmethodology_jan_2021_403875.pdf.

2 Sustainable Investment AUM includes third party and Allianz Socially Responsible AUM (negative screened portfolios), ESG AUM (portfolios with ESG objectives) and thematic AUM. $ referenced above is in USD.

3 Calculated as % by par-adjusted Firm AUM. Corporate issuer is defined as a non-government legal entity that develops, registers and sells securities to finance its operations. The statistic relates solely to the in-depth engagement activities by PIMCO's ESG analysts.

4 Calculated as % AUM of green, social, and other impact bonds as compared to the index. Green bonds are defined as bonds with use-of-proceeds devoted to environmental projects. Social bonds are defined as bonds with use-of-proceeds devoted to social projects or activities that achieve positive social outcomes and/or address a social issue. Impact bonds are defined as bonds with use-of-proceeds used to finance or re-finance a combination of green and social projects or activities. Impact bonds also include sustainability-linked bonds, which are bonds structurally linked to the issuer's achievement of climate or broader goals.

5 Source: Carbon intensity is intended to reflect how an issuer’s greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions (expressed as tonnes of CO2 equivalent (tCO2e)) compares to its overall revenues. The carbon intensity of the securities portfolio is defined as the weighted average carbon emissions (Scope 1 + Scope 2 emissions (tCO2e))/Revenues in USD of corporate bond holdings only in the portfolio (for issuers with available data). Absolute carbon emission analysis takes the total emission per issuer into consideration. As defined by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Scope 1 emissions are direct GHG emissions that occur from sources owned or controlled by a company (for example, company vehicles and facilities), and Scope 2 emissions are indirect GHG emissions from the purchase of electricity, steam, heating or cooling. Data used by PIMCO to calculate carbon intensity is (i) sourced from MSCI based on data reported by companies, a company specific model, or an industry specific model (MSCI’s methodology is available here: https://www.msci.com/index-carbon-footprint-metrics), or (ii) estimated by PIMCO for “use of proceeds” bonds not covered by MSCI. PIMCO’s estimates generally apply absolute emissions of the issuer’s parent company/companies to its subsidiaries. Green bonds issued by utility companies, however, are generally assumed at 10% of the parent company's CO2e intensity. Green bonds from Paris-aligned utility issuers (i.e., issuers whose current and future carbon emissions targets are consistent with the global accord to limit the global temperature rise by year 2100 to 1.5°C – 2°C above pre-industrial levels, based on third-party sources) are treated as having zero carbon emissions and, therefore, zero carbon intensity.

6 Universe is based on utilities sector holdings. 100% of the fund's utilities sector exposure is in renewable energy-based utilities, calculated as % by par-adjusted AUM.

7 Calculated as % by par-adjusted Fund AUM. The statistic relates solely to the in-depth engagement activities by PIMCO's ESG analysts.

Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees and expenses all may be associated with mutual fund investments. Please read the prospectus before investing. Mutual funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and past performance may not be repeated.

No offering is being made by this material. Interested investors should obtain a copy of the prospectus, which is available from your Financial Advisor.

All investments contain risk and may lose value. Investing in the bond market is subject to risks, including market, interest rate, issuer, credit, inflation risk, and liquidity risk. The value of most bonds and bond strategies are impacted by changes in interest rates. Bonds and bond strategies with longer durations tend to be more sensitive and volatile than those with shorter durations; bond prices generally fall as interest rates rise, and low interest rate environments increase this risk. Reductions in bond counterparty capacity may contribute to decreased market liquidity and increased price volatility. Bond investments may be worth more or less than the original cost when redeemed. Investing in foreign denominated and/or domiciled securities may involve heightened risk due to currency fluctuations, and economic and political risks, which may be enhanced in emerging markets. Mortgage and asset-backed securities may be sensitive to changes in interest rates, subject to early repayment risk, and their value may fluctuate in response to the market's perception of issuer creditworthiness; while generally supported by some form of government or private guarantee there is no assurance that private guarantors will meet their obligations. High-yield, lower-rated, securities involve greater risk than higher-rated securities; portfolios that invest in them may be subject to greater levels of credit and liquidity risk than portfolios that do not. Equities may decline in value due to both real and perceived general market, economic and industry conditions. Derivatives may involve certain costs and risks, such as liquidity, interest rate, market, credit, management and the risk that a position could not be closed when most advantageous. Investing in derivatives could lose more than the amount invested. Diversification does not ensure against loss.

The Funds offer different series, which are subject to different fees and expenses (which may affect performance), having different minimum investment requirements and are entitled to different services.

The products and services provided by PIMCO Canada Corp. may only be available in certain provinces or territories of Canada and only through dealers authorized for that purpose. PIMCO Canada has retained PIMCO LLC as sub-adviser. PIMCO Canada will remain responsible for any loss that arises out of the failure of its sub-adviser.

PIMCO Canada Corp, 199 Bay Street, Suite 2050, Commerce Court Station, P.O. Box 363, Toronto, ON, M5L 1G2, 416-368-3350

CMR2021-0915-1831014

Fonds d'obligations ESG PIMCO

Découvrez de nouvelles stratégies à revenu fixe durables grâce à la gamme de fonds d'investissement ESG de PIMCO.

in-page

Fonds ESG PIMCO

Nous estimons qu'en raison de la taille de leur marché et du caractère récurrent des émissions, les titres à revenu fixe jouent un rôle de premier plan dans le financement d'un avenir plus durable.

Une approche de chef de file

Des résultats concluants : notre processus actif d'investissement ESG se base sur l’approche rigoureuse déployée pour tous les portefeuilles PIMCO.

Une notation A+ par les PRI (2018, 2019 et 2020) : PIMCO s'astreint à intégrer les facteurs ESG dans son processus d'investissement et a obtenu la note A+ par les PRI des Nations Unies dans son évaluation annuelle, pour toutes les catégories à revenu fixe.

Compétence ESG de PIMCO

Nous visons une place de chef de file dans l'investissement ESG à revenu fixe

642 G$

Actif sous gestion en placements durables

Plus de 80 %

des positions en obligations de sociétés concernant des émetteurs mobilisés envers les aspects ESG

A+

Note d'évaluation des PRI (2018, 2019 et 2020) dans toutes les catégories à revenu fixe

Source : PIMCO. Au 30/09/2021

Impact durable

En investissant dans le Fonds d’obligations climatiques PIMCO plutôt que dans l’indice agrégé mondial des instruments de crédit mondiaux Bloomberg Barclays (couvert en USD), votre impact pourrait s’élever à :

Bouton « Commentaire »

11x

plus d'obligations vertes, sociales ou à autres formes d’impact

Bouton « Commentaire »

67 %

de réduction de l'intensité carbone

commentary icon

100 %

d'énergie renouvelable dans le secteur des services publics

Bouton « Commentaire »

86 %

d'engagement avec les sociétés dont les émissions figurent en portefeuille

Le Fonds d’obligations climatiques PIMCO se compare avec l’indice agrégé des instruments de crédit Bloomberg (couvert en USD), un indice obligataire de vaste portée largement reconnu, afin d’illustrer l’impact environnemental positif du Fonds par rapport à un univers de placement général non ESG. Le Fonds d’obligations climatiques PIMCO a pour référence l’indice des obligations vertes Bloomberg MSCI. La composition des indices peut varier substantiellement de celle du portefeuille. Il n’est pas possible d’investir directement dans un indice non géré.

Source : PIMCO. Au 30/09/2021

Rapport ESG et énoncé de politique

Rapport d’investissement ESG annuel

Étude de cas d'engagement auprès d'émetteurs obligataires, d'organisations professionnelles et de clients

Télécharger

Énoncé de politique de placement ESG

Approche de PIMCO pour analyser les facteurs ESG importants sur les marchés obligataires

Télécharger 
Plus de renseignements

Obligations ESG 101

Un aperçu éducatif sur le marché obligataire ESG, notamment sur les obligations vertes, sociales et liées au développement durable

En savoir plus maintenant

Brochure sur les stratégies ESG (Canada)

Présentation des aspects ESG importants pour les obligations ainsi que de l'approche de notre équipe et des stratégies que nous offrons en la matière

Télécharger

Conseils pratiques sur les émissions d'obligations durables

L'équipe de gestion de portefeuille ESG de PIMCO souligne les meilleures pratiques pour les émetteurs d'obligations vertes, sociales, durables ou liées au développement durable

Télécharger

Déclarations

Toronto
Corporation PIMCO Canada
199 rue Bay, bureau 2050,
Commerce Court Station
P.O. Box 363
CP 363, Toronto, ON, M5L 1G2,
416.368.3350

PIMCO Canada Corp. (199 rue Bay, bureau 2050, Commerce Court Station, CP 363, Toronto, ON, M5L 1G2) pourrait n’offrir ses services et produits que dans certaines provinces ou dans certains territoires du Canada et uniquement par l’intermédiaire de courtiers autorisés à cette fin. | PIMCO est une marque d’Allianz Asset Management of America L.P. aux États-Unis et ailleurs. ©2021, PIMCO.

1 Le rapport d’évaluation des PRI des Nations Unies ne concerne que les signataires des Principes pour l’investissement durable (PRI) et indique le degré d’intégration des aspects ESG dans leurs processus d’investissement. Les rapports de transparence des PRI des Nations Unies peuvent être consultés à la page suivante (en anglais) : https://stpublic.blob.core.windows.net/pri-ra/2020/Investor/Public-TR/(Merged)_Public_Transparency_Report_PIMCO_2020.pdf. Avant 2021, les évaluations des PRI se matérialisaient par des notes comprises entre A+ (la meilleure note) et E (la moins bonne note). Depuis 2021, la notation se base sur des étoiles, cinq étoiles correspondant à la meilleure note et une seule à la moins bonne. Pour la méthode appliquée avant 2021, veuillez consulter la page suivante (en anglais) : https://www.unpri.org/reporting-and-assessment/how-to-access-reported-data/3073.article#downloads.Pour la méthode appliquée à partir de 2021, veuillez consulter la page suivante (en anglais) : https://dwtyzx6upklss.cloudfront.net/Uploads/v/g/y/2021_assessmentmethodology_jan_2021_403875.pdf.

2 L’ASG durable comprend les placements socialement responsables (portefeuilles à exclusions), ESG (portefeuilles à objectifs ESG) et thématiques des tiers et d’Allianz. Le signe $ utilisé ci-dessus correspond au dollar américain.

3 Calculé en % de l’ASG ajusté à la valeur nominale de chaque société. Une société émettrice se définit comme une entité juridique non gouvernementale qui crée, inscrit en bourse et vend des valeurs mobilières pour financer ses activités. Les statistiques ne concernent que les activités d’engagement approfondi des analystes ESG de PIMCO.

4 Calculé en pourcentage de l’ASG des obligations vertes, sociales ou d’impact au sens général, comparativement à l’indice. Le produit des obligations vertes doit servir à des projets environnementaux. Le produit des obligations sociales doit servir à des projets sociaux ou à des activités apportant des améliorations ou répondant à des enjeux de nature sociale. Le produit des obligations d’impact doit servir à financer, ou refinancer, des projets ou des activités vertes et sociales, dans des proportions variables. Les obligations d’impact comprennent également des obligations indexées au développement durable, dont la structure prévoit l’atteinte d’objectifs climatiques ou plus généraux.

5 Source : l’intensité carbone vise à évaluer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) d’un émetteur (exprimées en tonnes d’équivalent CO2 ou tCO2e) par rapport à son revenu total. L’intensité carbone des titres d’un portefeuille se définit comme la moyenne pondérée des émissions de carbone [(tCO2e catégorie 1 + tCO2e catégorie 2)/revenu en $ US] de leurs émetteurs (ou de ceux dont on dispose de renseignements). L’analyse des émissions de carbone en données absolues tient compte de toutes les émissions de l’émetteur. Comme défini par l’Agence de protection de l’environnement des États-Unis (EPA), les émissions de catégorie 1 correspondent aux GES directement produits par des actifs détenus ou contrôlés par l’émetteur (ex. usines, flottes de véhicules), tandis que les émissions de catégorie 2 correspondent aux GES indirectement produits par l’achat d’électricité, vapeur, chauffage ou refroidissement. Les données utilisées par PIMCO pour calculer l’intensité carbone proviennent de i) MSCI, sur la base des données déclarées par les sociétés, par un modèle particulier de société, ou par un modèle particulier de secteur d’activité (la méthodologie de MSCI peut être consultée ici en anglais : https://www.msci.com/index-carbon-footprint-metrics), ou ii) estimée par PIMCO pour le produit d’obligations non couvertes par MSCI. Les estimations de PIMCO appliquent généralement aux filiales les émissions absolues de la société mère ou des sociétés mères de l’émetteur. Toutefois, on suppose que l’intensité en équivalent CO2 des obligations vertes émises par des sociétés de services publics correspond généralement à 10 % de celle de leur société mère. Les obligations vertes d’émetteurs du secteur des services publics conformes à l’Accord de Paris (ceux ayant garanti que leurs objectifs actuels et futurs d’émission de carbone, établis selon des méthodes basées sur la science, tiendraient compte de l’accord mondial visant à limiter le réchauffement de la planète à 1,5 °C-2 °C en 2100, par rapport à l’époque pré-industrielle) sont considérées comme n’ayant aucune émission de carbone et donc une intensité carbone égale à zéro. Les obligations durables d’émetteurs du secteur des services publics conformes à l’Accord de Paris utilisant en partie (mais pas en totalité) le produit pour des projets d’énergie renouvelable reçoivent 50 % des caractéristiques de carbone de leur émetteur (et 60 % s’il s’agit d’un émetteur du secteur des services publics non conforme à l’Accord de Paris).

6 L’univers de placement se base sur les positions du secteur des services publics. 100 % des positions du Fonds dans le secteur des services publics concernent des sociétés d’énergies renouvelables, calculé en % de l’ASG ajusté à la valeur nominale.

7 Calculé en % de l’ASG du Fonds ajusté à la valeur nominale. Les statistiques ne concernent que les activités d’engagement approfondi des analystes ESG de PIMCO.

Investir dans des fonds communs de placement peut donner lieu à des commissions, commissions de suivi, frais de gestion et à d'autres frais. Veuillez lire le prospectus avant d'investir. Les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas garantis, leur valeur change fréquemment et le rendement passé peut ne pas se reproduire.

Aucune offre n'est effectuée par les présentes. Les investisseurs devraient se procurer un exemplaire du prospectus auprès de leur conseiller financier.

Tous les placements comportent un risque et peuvent perdre de la valeur. Investir sur le marché obligataire comporte certains risques, y compris des risques associés au marché, aux taux d’intérêt, aux émetteurs, à la solvabilité de l'émetteur, à l'inflation et à la liquidité. La valeur de la plupart des fonds et des stratégies obligataires est affectée par les fluctuations des taux d'intérêt. Les obligations et les stratégies obligataires ayant des durées plus longues tendent à être plus sensibles et plus volatiles que celles ayant des durées plus courtes. En général, le cours des obligations baisse lorsque les taux d'intérêt montent et le contexte actuel de taux faibles augmente ce risque. Les réductions actuelles des capacités des contreparties obligataires pourraient contribuer à diminuer la liquidité du marché et à en augmenter la volatilité. La valeur de rachat des placements en obligations peut être inférieure ou supérieure à leur valeur originale. Les investissements dans des titres libellés en devises étrangères ou domiciliés à l'étranger peuvent comporter des risques plus élevés en raison des fluctuations des taux de change, des risques économiques et des risques politiques, lesquels peuvent être plus importants dans les marchés émergents. Les titres adossés à des hypothèques et à des actifs peuvent être sensibles aux fluctuations des taux d'intérêt et soumis au risque de remboursement anticipé. S'ils sont généralement garantis par des gouvernements, des agences gouvernementales ou des entités privées, rien ne dit que ces derniers honoreront leurs engagements. Les titres de qualité moindre à rendement élevé présentent un risque plus élevé que ceux de qualité supérieure; les portefeuilles qui investissent dans la première catégorie pourraient subir des risques de crédit et de liquidité plus élevés que les portefeuilles qui investissent dans la seconde catégorie. La valeur des actions peut diminuer en raison de la conjoncture sectorielle, économique ou boursière, perçue ou réelle. Les produits dérivés peuvent comporter certains coûts et risques, comme les risques de liquidité, de taux, de marché, de crédit et de gestion ainsi que le risque qu'une position ne puisse être liquidée au moment le plus opportun. Investir dans les instruments dérivés peut se traduire par une perte plus importante que le montant investi. La diversification ne garantit pas contre une perte.

Les fonds offrent habituellement différentes séries, chacune imposant ses propres frais (qui affectent éventuellement le rendement) et montants minimums d'investissement, moyennant des services différents.

Les produits et services offerts par PIMCO Canada pourraient n'être offerts que dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires du Canada et uniquement par l'intermédiaire de courtiers autorisés à cette fin. PIMCO Canada a retenu les services de PIMCO LLC comme sous-conseiller. PIMCO Canada demeurera responsable de toute perte qui provient de la défaillance de son sous-conseiller.

Corporation PIMCO Canada, 199 rue Bay, bureau 2050, Commerce Court Station, CP 363 Toronto, ON, M5L 1G2, 416-368-3350.

CMR2021-0915-1831014